About BrBex

Les Brasseurs Belges expatriésAlthough launched in October 2017, the brewery BrBex is not new in the world of homemade beers.


Origins

Christian and Yves, two long-time passionate lovers of craft beers, have been brewing their own beverage at home since a few years. They both studied the art of brewing by taking night classes at IFAPME in Arlon (not at the same time, though). There, they produced several beers in small quantities (around twenty liters per brew).When they met, they shared their brewing experience and after a few months, they decided to start a journey: going from pico-brewery to micro-brewery. Marc, a common friend and enlightened epicurean, joined the project.After several delicious tasting sessions and assembly, these three friends refined the recipes to offer a stable and complemetary beer assortment.Then, they had to create a company and name it.

Le verre BrBex entre Recevresse et Sereine

The three of them being expatriated in France, the name appeared obvious: “les Brasseurs Belges expatriés” or “the expatriated Belgian Brewers”… because Belgitude is and will indeed stay a guarantee of quality in the beer world.To symbolise this expatriation, Marc and Yves, who live near Avioth, chose the basilic of this town while Christian, living around Longwy, went for the priory of Mont-Saint-Martin. These two poles are located on the same cuesta, “la bajocienne”. (Lorraine-894) The basilic on its western base and the priory on its eastern summit. This “cuesta bajocienne” often defines the French-Belgian border and link the Roman Lorraine to the Frankish Lorraine. During the Middle Ages, the priory hosted retreats and religious service while the basilic accomodated pilgrims and markets.A line is thus drawn in the receiving country of the three friends. One can associate its wavy motion and its shape to the Vouivre, an underground water current that embodies the healing power of waters and the latent energies hidden in the bosom of Mother Earth. The Vouivre was dear to the Cult of the Black Virgin and to Avioth. This line is a visual and undergound link between these two places full of history who gave the names of our beers. This link is a symbol of the deep frienship between our three brewers.These two places of history also led to the name of the beers…

History

Like many before us, we decided to start brewing our beers in established breweries. The main challenge is to find free slots (an tank that is empty for a time long enough for us to fill it). In this Fall of 2017, the brewery GenGoulf found us two slots in their schedule. This enabled us to brew our first Recevresse and then our first Sereine.

Our beers

While mainly gustative and olfactive, each of our beer is also a visual experience. We took the decision to focus as much on the bottle labels as we did on the nectar contained in these same bottles.Michel Barthélémy, a seasoned artist, accepted to paint the name and spirit of our beers. These paintings are the center of the labels.The basilic of Avioth brought us mythical regional themes known by every Lorrain, like the recevresse or the warabouc.From its monastic vocation and its transcultural position, the priory of Mont-Saint-Martin brought us universal themes like the novitiate or the pursuit of serenity.Development

Our goal is obviously to brew as fast as possible in our own facilities. This will naturally depend on the success of our first brews.The evolution of our craftwork will be done in order to always keep in mind the following important aspects: uniqueness, esthetic, quality, respect of processes, ingredients and Human.

À propos de BrBex

Les Brasseurs Belges expatriésOuverte en octobre 2017, la brasserie BrBex n’en est pas pour autant à ses premiers balbutiements.


Préhistoire

Ces deux passionnés que sont Christian et Yves brassaient chez eux depuis quelques années et ont tous deux, mais séparément, suivi une formation de micro brasseur en cours du soir à l’IFAPME d’Arlon. Ils ont ainsi créé une série de bières produites alors en très petites quantités (une vingtaine de litres par brassin).Lorsqu’ils se sont rencontrés, ils ont bien sûr échangé sur leurs expériences brassicoles. Après quelques mois, ils se sont décidés à se lancer dans l’aventure : sortir de la picobrasserie pour devenir microbrasseurs. Marc, un ami commun, épicurien éclairé, s’est joint alors au projet.Après de savoureuses dégustations et assemblages, ces trois amis ont revu les recettes pour offrir un panel stable et complémentaire.Puis il fallut créer une société et la nommer.


Étant tous trois belges expatriés en France, un nom s’est imposé : « les Brasseurs Belges expatriés »… car la Belgitude reste un gage de qualité dans le domaine de la bière.Pour symboliser cette expatriation, Marc et Yves, habitant tout près d’Avioth, ont choisi la basilique comme ancrage tandis que Christian a choisi le prieuré de Mont-Saint-Martin également en fonction de sa résidence. Ces deux pôles sont situés sur une même cuesta, la bajocienne. (Lorraine-894) La basilique étant à son pied occidental et le prieuré étant en son sommet oriental. Cette cuesta bajocienne forme souvent la frontière Franco-Belge et relie la Lorraine Romane à la Lorraine Francique. Au moyen-âge le prieuré à l’orient et au sommet de la cuesta accueillait les retraites et les offices pour trois villages tandis qu’à l’occident, la basilique fondée au pied de cette cuesta, accueillait pèlerinages et marchés. Une ligne est ainsi tirée comme pour s’étendre dans le pays d’adoption des trois amis. Son mouvement ondulatoire et sa forme, peuvent l’associer à la Vouivre, sorte de courant souterrain incarnant le pouvoir régénérateur des eaux et des énergies latentes renfermées au sein de la terre Mère, si cher au culte des vierges noires comme à Avioth, faisant ainsi de cette ligne un lien visuel et souterrain entre ces deux lieux chargés d’histoire qui ont engendré les noms de nos bières. Lien symbolisant également la profonde amitié qui relie nos trois brasseurs.Ces deux lieux chargés d’histoire ont également engendré les noms des bières…

Histoire

Nous avons décidé, comme d’autres l’ont fait avant nous, de brasser dans un premier temps nos bières chez des brasseurs établis. Le tout est de trouver des créneaux (une cuve vide assez longtemps pour que nous puissions la remplir). Cet automne 2017, la brasserie
GenGoulf nous a trouvé deux places dans leur programmation, qui ont permis de brasser notre première Recevresse puis notre première Sereine.

Nos bières

Chacune de nos bières est tout d’abord une expérience gustative et olfactive. Mais également visuelle ! Nous avons fait le choix d’apporter autant d’attention aux étiquettes de nos bouteilles qu’aux nectars qu’elles contiennent.Un artiste chevronné, Michel Barthélémy, a accepté de transcrire en peinture les noms de nos bières et les idées qu’ils véhiculaient pour nous. Ces peintures sont le centre des étiquettes.La basilique d’Avioth nous a livré des thèmes légendaires régionaux ou architecturaux que tout lorrain gaumais connait, tels que la recevresse ou le warabouc.Le prieuré de Mont-Saint-Martin, par sa vocation monastique et par sa position transculturelle dès sa création et jusqu’à nos jours, nous a conduit à des thèmes universels tels que le noviciat ou la recherche de la sérénité.Développement

Il est évident que nous voulons brasser le plus rapidement possible dans nos propres installations. Cela dépendra évidemment du succès de nos premiers brassins.Le développement de notre artisanat se fera de façon telle que notre travail – à chaque étape de ce développement – offrira à nos consommateurs une gamme de bières uniques, alliant l’esthétique à une démarche complète de qualité dans le respect des processus, des ingrédients et de l’Humain.